Home /


The Sapientia Hungarian University of Transylvania was established in 2001 as an independent higher education institution in Romania, with the aim of providing tertiary education in Hungarian language. The accredited University is functioning in four different towns: Miercurea Ciuc, Târgu-Mureș, Cluj-Napoca and Sf. Gheorghe. Each of the four study centres has a specific profile, yet they form together an organic university structure.

Sapientia University is an institution promoting high quality education and competitiveness, striving to meet international standards and aiming to prepare professionals able to assert themselves following their graduation, either at home or in any country of the European community.

In the academic year of 2015/2016, a total number of 2109 students were enrolled in 31 BSc and 11 master programmes, within 3 faculties of the 4 study centres, under the guidance of around 350 tutors from Romania and abroad.

Efficient partnership with domestic and international higher education and research institutions created the conditions for joining the European Higher Education Area and represent further opportunities for the development of research and teaching, through student and teacher exchange programmes. In this aspect ERASMUS mobilities have been launched from the academic year 2013/2014.

Scientific research activity is organized within the framework of internally accredited research centres in the related fields of study, and it’s financed mainly by different EU and Romanian state projects. The Scientific Research Department supports and encourages scientific research and publishing, like the Acta Universitatis Sapientiae, the international scientific journal of the university.


Calendar of Events

October 2021